Récipiendaire officiel des réalisations exceptionnelles de 2019

You are here: Home » 2019 CAFA » Récipiendaire officiel des réalisations exceptionnelles de 2019

DOUGLAS KIRKLAND – Récipiendaire du Prix d’excellence CAFA 2019

Douglas Kirkland est un photographe de célébrités primé. Il rejoint Look Magazine au début de la vingtaine, puis Life Magazine à l’âge d’or du photojournalisme dans les années 1960 et 1970. Il a simultanément contribué à d’autres publications majeures dans le monde, notamment le London Sunday Times Magazine, le New York Times Magazine et Town & amp; Pays parmi beaucoup d’autres. Entre 1960 et aujourd’hui, Douglas Kirkland a photographié plus de 2 000 projets et plus de 600 célébrités, de Marilyn Monroe à Angelina Jolie. Au cours de la même période, il a travaillé sur les décors de plus de 150 films, dont The Sound of Music (1964), 2001: Odyssée de l’espace (1968), Butch Cassidy et le Sundance Kid (1969), Out of Africa (1985) Titanic (1997) Moulin Rouge (2000), Australie (2007), le Great Gatsby (2011) et The 33  en 2014.

Ses livres incluent Light Years (1989), Icons (1993), Legends (1999), Body Stories (1998), Freeze Frame (2007), Une soirée avec Marilyn (2002), Coco Chanel: Three Weeks (2008). , The Cameron of Thriller (2010) de Michael Jackson (1997), avec Michael Jackson (1997) dans le New York Times (1997). Douglas Kirkland – Une vie en images  a été publié en septembre 2013. Come Una Pin Up , un hommage ludique à l’illustrateur Gil Elvgren a été publié dans Italie à l’été de 2014. Une édition limitée De Luxe de son livre, When We Were Young , a été créée avec une exposition réussie à la Mouche Gallery de Beverly Hills, Freeze Frame: Second Cut  est sorti en avril 2017. Son nouveau livre, Physical Poetry Alphabet , a été publié en juin 2018 par Sylph Editions à Londres.

Les photographies de Douglas Kirkland ont été exposées dans le monde entier et font partie des collections permanentes de la National Portrait Gallery à Londres, de la National Portrait Gallery à Canberra (Australie), du Smithsonian Museum, de l’Eastman House, de la Académie des arts et des sciences du cinéma, entre autres. En septembre 2008, Vanity Fair Italy a organisé une rétrospective au musée de la Trienale à Milan et, en février 2012, pour la première fois, l’Académie des arts et des sciences du cinéma a chargé Douglas de réaliser des portraits des nominés du meilleur acteur. Meilleure Actrice, Acteur Secondaire et Actrice Secondaire. Ces images ont été exposées dans le grand hall de l’Académie avec le titre Out of Character et font également partie de la collection permanente de l’Académie. Son exposition: “Douglas Kirkland – Une vie en images” à la Galerie d’art moderne GOMA à Brisbane a été la 3ème exposition photographique la plus visitée au monde en 2010. “Douglas Kirkland – Freeze Frame” a ouvert à Rome au MAXXI Museum Octobre 2017. La Galerie Lumiere Brothers à Moscou a organisé une grande rétrospective “Douglas Kirkland – Dans les coulisses” à Moscou de janvier à avril 2018.

Il est également un conférencier recherché, membre des Explorers of Light de Canon et membre associé de l’American Society of Cinematographers. Parmi ses nombreuses récompenses, citons une Lucie pour réalisations exceptionnelles en photographie de divertissement, The Golden Eye of Russia et un prix d’excellence pour l’ensemble des réalisations de la CAPIC au Canada. En 2010, Cinecitta Luce et la Cinémathèque américaine lui ont décerné le Prix du cinéma à l’italienne. En février 2011, l’American Society of Cinematographers ASC lui a décerné le prestigieux President’s Award. En janvier 2014, PHOTO LA l’a honoré pour sa contribution au monde de la photographie. À l’été 2015, il a reçu un spécial Nastri D’Argento (ruban d’argent) au Festival international du film de Taormina. Le consul général du Canada à Los Angeles lui a décerné le Prix d’excellence en reconnaissance de ses nombreuses réalisations exceptionnelles en septembre 2017.

Il a mené une longue carrière pendant plus de cinquante ans sans aucun signe de ralentissement. Lorsqu’il ne voyage pas dans le monde en mission avec son épouse et partenaire d’affaires, Françoise, son domicile et son studio se trouvent à Hollywood Hills.

Les archives Douglas Kirkland sont un dépôt de célébrités et de la culture populaire hollywoodiennes au cours des cinquante dernières années.

2019 Outstanding Achievement Recipient

You are here: Home » CAFA 2019 » 2019 Outstanding Achievement Recipient

DOUGLAS KIRKLAND – 2019 CAFA Outstanding Achievement Award Recipient

Douglas Kirkland is an award-winning celebrity photographer. He joined Look Magazine in his early twenties, then Life Magazine during the golden age of photojournalism in the 1960s and 1970s. He simultaneously contributed to other major publications around the world, including The London Sunday Times Magazine, The New York Times Magazine and Town & Country among many others. Between 1960 and present, Douglas Kirkland photographed over 2,000 assignments and more than 600 major celebrities — from Marilyn Monroe to Angelina Jolie. During the same period he worked on the sets of more than 150 motion pictures, including The Sound of Music (1964), 2001: A Space Odyssey (1968), Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid (1969), Out of Africa (1985) Titanic (1997) Moulin Rouge (2000), Australia (2007), the Great Gatsby (2011), and The 33 in 2014.

His books include Light Years (1989), Icons (1993), Legends (1999), Body Stories (1998), Freeze Frame (2007), An Evening With Marilyn (2002), Coco Chanel: Three Weeks (2008), the New York Times #1 best-selling James Cameron’s Titanic (1997), Michael Jackson the Making of Thriller (2010), With Marilyn (2012). A monograph on his career, Douglas Kirkland – A Life in Pictures, was released in September of 2013. Come Una Pin Up, a playful homage to illustrator Gil Elvgren was published in Italy in the summer of 2014. A limited De Luxe edition of his book, When We Were Young, premiered with a successful exhibition at the Mouche Gallery in Beverly Hills, Freeze Frame: Second Cut was released in April 2017. His new book, Physical Poetry Alphabet, was released in June 2018 by Sylph Editions in London.

Douglas Kirkland’s photographs have been exhibited throughout the world and are included in the permanent collections of the National Portrait Gallery in London, The National Portrait Gallery in Canberra Australia, the Smithsonian Museum, the Eastman House, the Gallery of Modern Art in Brisbane Australia and the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences among others. In September of 2008, Vanity Fair Italy organized a retrospective at the Museum of the Trienale in Milan and in February of 2012, for the first time, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences commissioned Douglas to shoot portraits of the nominees for Best Actor, Best Actress, Supporting Actor and Supporting Actress. These images were exhibited in the Grand Lobby of the Academy with the title of Out of Character and are part of the permanent collection at the Academy as well. His exhibition: “Douglas Kirkland – A Life in Pictures” at the Museum of Modern Art Gallery GOMA in Brisbane was the 3rd most visited photographic exhibition in the world in 2010. “Douglas Kirkland – Freeze Frame” opened in Rome at the MAXXI Museum in October 2017. The Lumiere Brothers Gallery in Moscow held a major retrospective “Douglas Kirkland – Behind the Scenes” in Moscow from January to April 2018.

He is also a sought after lecturer, a member of Canon’s Explorers of Light and an associate member of the American Society of Cinematographers. His numerous awards include, a Lucie for Outstanding Achievement in Entertainment Photography, The Golden Eye of Russia, and a Lifetime Achievement Award from CAPIC in Canada. In 2010 Cinecitta Luce and the American Cinematheque gave him the Cinema Italian Style Award and in February 2011, the American Society of Cinematographers ASC presented him with the prestigious President’s Award. In January of 2014, PHOTO LA honored him, for his contribution to the world of photography. In the summer of 2015, he received a special Nastri D’Argento (Silver Ribbon) at the International Taormina Film Festival. The Canadian Consul General in Los Angeles presented him with the Award of Excellence in recognition of a lifetime of outstanding accomplishments in September 2017.

He has enjoyed a long-term career spanning over fifty years with no sign of slowing down. When he is not traveling the globe on assignment with his wife and business partner Francoise, his home and studio is in the Hollywood Hills.

The Douglas Kirkland Archive is a repository of Hollywood celebrity and popular culture during the last half-century.